Moving Day tomorrow, yikes, what have we done…just kidding

After weeks months of packing and downsizing we are making progress.  On to a 2bdrm condo for 12 mos while we continue to downsize and motorhome shop.  I’m a bit disappointed that we had to get a storage unit but it is what it is. My goal is to have the unit cleaned out by May and I really didn’t want a packed garage at the condo. After all this I need some breathing space.  The idea of a sparse/small/organized  living space has great appeal. Movers will be here at 8 am tomorrow, Sunday will be last trips for trash and donations, then Monday final cleaning at the old house.  Woohoo for tuesday

Fear:  that in a few months I’ll be homesick

Hope:  that after the fall RV Dreams rally in October, that Dan bumps up his retirement date to June 2014 and we head out in Sept 2014???

Well today I’m not getting too far ahead of myself.  Goal was to sell house and prepare to be full timers and we’ve done that.  Soon a bit of relaxation!!  In two wks we leave for the Smokies and have two weeks to enjoy ourselves in our travel trailer and it should be gorgeous with all the fall colors.  The plan is to stop in Cumberland Falls, Ky, then on to meet up with some old friends we haven’t seen in a long time near Knoxville, Tn, then on to the rally in Franklin, NC.  This will be the longest and farthest trip with our travel trailer and I am pretty stoked about it.

I knew a few people have previously suggested we just start out in the TT that we have, and we may, but to really be mobile and content I think another unit would better fit the bill.  Cooking, which I love to do, is a pain in this unit.  Most of the time I cook outside but when we full time I would really want a little better set up.  1174900_10201303343038096_1145517212_n

I have noticed that the longer we are staying in it the more like home it seems so I’m thinking that’s a good sign. (homemade quilts, curtains, and lots of light make a huge difference to me).                                           1234377_10201303380279027_340076473_n

The last time out in it, Dan took off biking with the dog and I spent an afternoon relaxing and cleaning/ organizing the trailer and finally remembered to bring some great CD’s to play.  What a difference “the Beatles” made, lol.  I think I was just in camping mode for so long in this trailer and now I am getting more into everyday living in it which I hope you full timers can relate to.  Anyway, it felt great and I’m loving all the changes.

well, off to pack more boxes.  Thanks to everyone for all your support.

2 thoughts on “Moving Day tomorrow, yikes, what have we done…just kidding

  1. After the move it’ll be nice to get away. Moving is exhausting and our first two months of full-timing was spent recovering. Now we’re exploring, hiking, and loving the life. I thought this 31′ 5th wheel would be too small to live in full-time but it’s not. We still are too big for a lot of the National Forest Campgrounds….some real beauties. Happy moving!

  2. Well you are huge to what we are living in…98sf is pretty tight but wouldn’t trade this new lifestyle for anything. We are committed for one year and then will move up to something bigger or ??, as who knows what’s in the cards. Moving was so stressful, but once it’s done you’ll feel so free!

Leave a Reply

